Lemon Curd

Lemon curd is an absolute tangy, lemony, golden goodness. Lemon curd adds the right amount of acidity to a sharp sweetness of any dessert. It instantly elevates the store bought muffin or pound cakes. The entire process itself is quite easy, a little whisking action is required to get that smooth texture. 

The very first time I tasted the lemon curd was at a waffles restaurant, waffles were topped with lemon curd and whipped cream. It’s their signature waffles and I fell in love with the combination of sweet and tang. I never really gotten myself to make lemon curd. Since I was at my mom’s and had people around to share the food, I decided to make some lemon curd and Vanilla sponge cake. I used the lemon curd as a filling with buttercream frosting in the Vanilla sponge cake. It tasted divine.

Generally the Indian lemons are quite stronger than US lemons. I have to be honest with you guys, I really don’t know if it’s lemon or lime we get it in India. Lemon/lime available in India are more tangy than US lemons. Taste the lemon juice before adding it to the the egg yolks. If you feel like it might be too sour, you can reduce the amount of lemon juice.

Note: Freeze the egg whites for later use or if you feel ambitious make macaroons.

Ingredients,

Lemon zest -2 big indian lemon (1/2 tbsp)
Lemon juice – 1.5 lemon or 3tbsp
Sugar- 1/4 cup
Yolk – 2
Cold butter – 2.5 tbsp
A pinch of salt

Prepping,

Add all the ingredients to a glass bowl or a heavy bottom bowl. Whisk everything together until well combined.

Place the bowl over a double boil while simmering and whisk continuosly.

The mixture will start to thicken. Lemon curd will be ready in 5 to 6 minutes. The texture of lemon curd should be closer to hollandaise sauce.

Remove the bowl from heat and stir in the cold butter. Lemon curd is ready.

Note: Store in refrigerator for about a week and use. Lemon curd also freezes well. Thaw it overnight and use.

Lemon Curd

Leave a comment