Coconut Shrimp Curry

Hello! Hello! Creamy coconut sauce here.

DSC_0625

I always wonder how very few ingredients sing together to make a tasty sauce. Coconut curries are effortless but gives you a rich feel. I tend to use freshly squeezed coconut milk almost every time I make Coconut curry. Freshly squeezed coconut milk gives a subtle sweetness making a little trouble so worth it. You can also use canned coconut milk but make sure that you use thick coconut milk.

Saturday lunches are usually quick whipped ones. I do try to make it tasty and special. One such recipe is Coconut Shrimp Curry. Let’s get right into the recipe.

Ingredients,

2 cups of  jumbo shrimp (uncooked and peeled)

2 cups of thick coconut milk (freshly squeezed or canned)

1 cup of onions (finely chopped)

1 tsp of garlic (finely chopped)

1 tbsp of sriracha sauce

1 tbsp of chili powder

1 tsp cumin powder

1 tbsp of mint

1 tsp of lemon juice

Salt to taste

Preping,

Add a tbsp of vegetable oil to a pan on a medium flame and sear the shrimp until golden brown. Make sure that you don’t overcook shrimp. You don’t want rubbery shrimp. I do it tad underdone, this helps me from shrimp overcooking when I add it to the hot coconut curry. Transfer the shrimp to a plate.

DSC_0595

You can use the same pan or a different pan. I used a different one. As I said before this is my quick recipe. I completely multitask for my saturday lunch. I was searing shrimp in one pan and sauteing onions in another.

DSC_0598

Saute onion and garlic for about 3 minutes or until there is no raw smell. Reduce the flame to low and then add chili powder and cumin powder. Saute it for about 2 mins. Keep stirring cause dry spices will burn quickly.

DSC_0600 (1)

Add the coconut milk and simmer in medium flame until the coconut milk thickens a tad more than it’s original consistency. Add salt to taste along with coconut milk. Say I have added 2 cups of coconut milk, it should reduce to 1¾ cup.

Time to add shrimp and sriracha sauce. Sriracha is optional. We like some kick to our sauce. Trust me it’s my husband’s idea to add sriracha and we liked the sauce better.  Add the shrimps to coconut curry and simmer just for a minute. Finish it off with mint leaves and a tsp of lemon juice. You can use any herb. Basil works really well. But I love love love coconut milk and mint together.

DSC_0608

Serve it with rice.

DSC_0622

If you love the sweet and spicy flavor together. You can definitely add a tsp of honey.

Try this recipe you won’t regret it.

One thought on “Coconut Shrimp Curry

Leave a comment