Strawberry – Chili Chutney

Juicy strawberries in my refrigerator. Hand picked by me from a nearby farm. Omg!!! It’s so juicy and sweet. I experiment a lot with strawberry. Of course it’s great for dessert,  It is also a great fruit to try savory recipe. ‘Strawberry – Chilli Chutney’ is slight variation of my mom’s recipe. I just used the same recipe for strawberry instead of mango and pumpkin. It has very few ingredients and easy to cook.

 

 

DSC_0869

 

 

Ingredients

1 cup of Strawberry, cored and chopped

1/4 teaspoon of grated ginger

1 green chili, seeded

1 tablespoon of brown sugar

A pinch of salt

berry

You can also use White sugar, but I love the earthy flavor of brown sugar.

     DSC_0580

 

Prepping,

Add strawberry to a saucepan and cook it in medium flame for 5 minutes.

Add chili, ginger, salt and brown sugar to the Strawberry and cook until Strawberry lets out all the water.

Cook in medium flame until all the juices have evaporated and comes to jam consistency. All together it will take only about 20 minutes to cook.

Enjoy it with tortilla chips, apple chips or with upuma.

DSC_0623

 

DSC_0631

 

Yummy with chips…  I ended up making another batch again the next day, trust me its irresistible.

 

2 thoughts on “Strawberry – Chili Chutney

Leave a comment