Fresh tomato soup

I was craving for something fresh and light. I know there are lot of option but I also wanted it to be very tasty and hot. Was thinking about my lunch and was looking outside my balcony, it was cloudy and chill. So I thought tomato soup is perfect for lunch with some croutons in this chilly climate. Yummy!!! I was all excited and started to cut my tomatoes. Usually I do in an old fashioned way by stating the tomatoes and other veggies in a large pot, it’s quite time consuming. So I decided to cut and cook in the oven. It is easy and tasty as well.

Ingredients are real simple,

12-14 roma tomatoes or any variety

4 garlic pods

½ onion (large)

Handful of basil

½ a stalk of celery cut (optional)

¼ cup of red bell pepper cut (optional)

4 tbsp of olive oil

French loaf

½ tbsp of Parsley flakes

1 tsp of sugar

Salt and pepper to taste

Prepping,

Half tomatoes, celery, red pepper, basil and garlic to a baking pan. Add sugar, salt, pepper and olive oil to the pan.

Pre-heat oven at 350 degrees and bake it for about 30-40 mins until vegs are caramelized.

DSC_0156.NEF

Let it cool and blend the vegetables. You can have it hot just like that or you can add cream.

Serve it with some tasty croutons.

For the croutons, cut baguette into an inch cubes. Toss it with olive oil, parsley, salt and pepper. Bake it for 20 mins in a pre-heated oven at 350 degrees. These croutons are crunchy and prefect for soup.

I like my soup with few tomato chunks than being smooth… totally for grilled cheese sandwich. The ULTIMATE COMBO.

DSC_0167.NEF

Tasty!

Leave a comment