Cashew Macarons

Cashew Macarons is a piece of nostalgia for me. As long as I could remember I used to buy these macarons from our local bakery. It was the only biggest bakery (Lakshmi Bakery) in my hometown. For more than 25 years they have maintained their quality. I used to go there so often that I invited the owners for my wedding. They are really sweet people.

I have visited almost every french bakery in LA, searching for these cashew macarons. I gave up and made some by myself. Of course, it doesn’t taste like the one from Tuticorin but got the local bakery taste. I kept staring at the oven, for more than an hour. I just wanted to get it right. Waited till my husband came home and he did the taste test. First of all, he was surprised that I got it right. I know it is just a macaron but I was so pleased and excited that it tasted perfect.

Ingredients,

4 egg whites

3/4 cup of sugar

1/2 cup of coarsely ground cashews

Note:

I like my sweets less sweet. You can add up to 1 cup of sugar if you want. 

Prepping,

Preheat oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.

In a bowl add the egg whites and start beating. Once the egg white started to froth, add sugar little by little. Continue beating the egg whites until stiff peaks are formed.dsc_1054

Fold in the cashews.

dsc_1056

Fill a Ziploc bag or a piping bag with big round nozzle.  Start piping the meringue in a pyramid shape.

dsc_1058

Hey! don’t judge me, I have bad piping skills.dsc_1059Bake it for about 1.5 hours to two hours. Mine took 2 hours. Keep an eye on it. Once the bottom crisps and comes off easily from the parchment, then your macarons are done.

Let it cool down completely before tasting.

dsc_1063It is my memory, try it and let me know.

2 thoughts on “Cashew Macarons

Leave a comment