Indian Roasted Chickpeas

I need a crunchy snack. Chips!!! I would love to nibble some salt and vinegar potato chips. But I am going to feel guilty later. I need crunchy, spicy and guilt free snack. Have been trying few healthy snacks say, veggies with hummus, veggies with hot sauce and mixed nuts. I also tried the sweet versions, peanut butter, dried fruits and fruits with yogurt. I just wanted to have a cheat snack, need a crunch.

Finally I found it, since then its been my holy grail of spicy and crunchy snack. All you need is chickpeas and seasoning. Mix it and roast them. You can use all types of spices and herb. I am going with my roots, Indian Spices. Hot and aromatic is what I was going for.

Ingredients,

1 cup of Chickpeas, cooked

1 tsp of Chili Powder

½ tsp of Garam Masala

½ tsp of Garlic Powder

A pinch of Hing / Asafoetida

 A pinch of Turmeric

1 tbsp of Olive Oil

Salt to taste

Preping,

Preheat oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

If your using canned chickpeas, drain and rinse the chickpeas. Use a paper towel or kitchen towel, pat dry the chickpeas. Let it air dry for 30 minutes.

DSC_0942.JPG

I used dry chickpeas and cooked them. I soaked dry chickpeas for 4 hours, pressure cooked (Medium flame, 1 whistle and let it rest). Drain, pat dry and also air dry.

Mix rest of the ingredients together. Line a baking pan with baking sheet or aluminum foil.

DSC_0944

Transfer the chickpeas to the baking pan. Bake for 30-40 minutes, shake the pan every 10 minutes. Heat could vary for different ovens. Roast until golden and crunchy.

Suggestions:

Use garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. Fresh garlic will burn quickly. 

Use lemon zest instead of lemon juice. Tastes better than using lemon juice. 

For easy spice, use just chat masala and salt. 

DSC_0953

Let it cool down and store in an air tight container. It will stay crunchy for a week. Crunch it away. Guiltless.

 

Leave a comment